Story of the Week 12/30

Welcome to this week’s installment of “Story of the Week.”

I have one story that I want to talk about.

There’s still time to get that flu shot —Virus season may be starting later this year

via fpsaz.com

via fpsaz.com

It’s our annual “get your flu shot” story. Last year’s flu shot story was actually written by me as my first story for the Chronicle. I had no idea they were actually going to publish it, but my first story ran on New Year’s Eve.

The flu shot story is easy, very easy. All you have to do is call a spokesman from Walgreens or CVS, get a hold of an infectious disease doctor from Windham Community Memorial Hospital, talk to a health director in eastern Connecticut and provide background and statistics on the flu. It takes about a week to get all the pieces together,but it’s a great package that is both informative and gives the flu a personality.

Sometimes it’s rampant and sometimes its dormant. I find it really interesting to learn about the season’s trends. Probably because I’m a nerd.

It’s simple to put together and always comes out well. It also helps to fill the paper at a time when I’m about to leave on vacation and the first week of January in approaching.

The flu story isn’t going to win me any awards, but it’s main purpose is to inform the public and keep them thinking about the disease. Flu shots aren’t free, but it’s a smart way to get people to consider it.

Jonathan