Write For Tomorrow

tomorrow

via tmtship.com

I’m always writing for tomorrow.

It’s a habit I started when I realized that writing on deadline is a stress that I don’t want to have every day. I can’t tell you when it started officially, but it’s been working out great ever since.

Take this past night shift for example. I wrote five stories for this week. They are all legitimate stories that have to get in the paper.

The way I see it if I have them done, I can do other stories as they come up when I need to. And I can take the “bigger” assignments from Mike when he thinks of them. It’s really not added work on my back because I already have the smaller stories done.

It’s a win-win for me and the editors. They still get their copy each day and I get to relax a bit on deadline because I’m not trying to ask too much of myself.

Even before deadline is up, I’m calling and writing for tomorrow.

Why would I wait to call someone in 24 hours when I can call them right now? I asked myself that a lot when I first started. I wasn’t able to get people to talk on deadline.

I kept getting frustrated and I just decided to make the switch. If I don’t catch my sources on deadline the first day, they, at least, get my message and are expecting my call the next day. I’ve found it to be a good idea.

I’m not a huge fan of surprising people out of the blue, unless I know I can get in touch with them at a moment’s notice.

This may sound a bit unorthodox, but it pays to be organized. There is nothing worse then telling an editor that you won’t have the story for him on deadline. It’s a feeling that shouldn’t even have to be explained. It’s awful and I try to avoid it at all costs.

If this works for me, I don’t see why it wouldn’t be able to work for others. It’s pretty easy to do.

I’m just taking the extra time I have and utilizing it to make it work for me and not against me.

I don’t know if my editors know I’m doing this. I’m curious to know what they would think if I told them.

Give it a try. It can’t hurt you.

Jonathan

2 Responses to Write For Tomorrow

  1. Pingback: Deadlines: The Pressure | Just Starting Out

  2. Pingback: Ask More | Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

