Story of the Week 4/14

I don’t think I’ve ever written three features in one week. They all came out great and I was really glad that I was able to push myself to do them.

Here they are in no particular order…

Route 32 has a history of accidents

Deadly crashes on the rise on Route 32

Mike gave me the idea for this one after another really serious accident in Franklin left a motorcyclist in critical condition. It wasn’t on Route 32, but he wanted me to get more information on the route and see what I could come up with.

It took a lot of work, but I was actually able to get a lot of information and some “eyewitness” testimonials of how dangerous the route is.

It was fun to do and actually pretty easy. Roxanne and I spent about two hours during the week driving up and down the route to find people to talk to and see how bad it is for ourselves. By the end, we were terrified of driving down there. People zoom all over and really don’t obey any of the speed limits, whatsoever. It definitely needs a lot more attention.

I was also able to get a nice sidebar, so my story wasn’t bogged down with statistics and figures. That certainly helped me out with my main story. I’m pretty proud with how it all came out.

Leaving more than memories Widow helps educate public on importance of organ donations as way of giving gift of life

This one was all my idea. I got a press release from the town on a whim and I did some digging and went for it. We used it as our Sunday human interest feature and I don’t think I could have written a better story. I interviewed Tyson Alexander on Tuesday and I had all week to work on it.

I was able to do a lot of research on donating and making sure I gave enough space to what happened to her and her husband. It has a great mix of statistics and quotes that will grab at you.

I’ve been a organ donor since I got my licence, but a lot of the myths she was talking about were pretty crazy. I had no idea people thought about some of them like that.

It’s a tough read at first, but it turns out to be an inspiring story that I was thankful to get.

A bright, sunshiny day Warm weather welcome after a long, cold winter

Mike and I had talked about doing a “nice weather feature” for awhile, but the weather wasn’t cooperating with us. Finally, on this past Monday, Roxanne and I were able to go out and about in Willimantic and get the feature done.

It was actually a nice man-on-the-street exercise for me and I was able to get outside for an extended period of time. It turned out awesome and was actually pretty fun talking to people about the obvious.

It’s a light, fun read and I was able to get pretty creative with it.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

