It’s All about Sandy

via reddit.com

Click the image for a gif of Hurricane Sandy!

Today we were back to normal. I wrote another Sandy story, mostly on the cleanup and how things in our towns were going. It was the thing I wrote on deadline, which was nice. I’m slowly getting back into the rhythm of the paper again. It’s a work in progress.

Today’s paper came out great, though. We had a ton of local stories, including our election packages for the races we cover.

As for tomorrow, I think we’ll have our last Sandy story, unless some of our towns are still seeing large power outages. Mike already said we would only focus on the towns that were still seeing a lot of people in the dark. The Sandy roundups are only getting easier to write. I’m really happy about how the stories have been coming out.

Moving forward, we are moving toward Election Day. I’m looking forward to next Tuesday, but I’m not looking forward to not sleeping. I’m kidding. It should be fun, but I’m going to place a bet right now that America will not know who the President of the United States is before they go to bed. I really think it’ll take that long. It’s just a hunch I have it probably won’t be that way, but we still have to wait and see.

Connecticut is still looking at widespread outages and road closures. I’m hoping that our towns are close to 100 percent of residents with power by Friday. Connecticut Light and Power has yet to establish a deadline, though.

Let’s see what happens for the rest of the week.

Jonathan