No More Photos in Posts?

If you’re an avid reader of my blog, you know that I’ve used photos, mainly from Google Images, at the beginning of posts.

I’ve never thought twice about it. I’ve always put the credit at the bottom and I’ve never had a problem.

Back in August, a friend sent me a link to a blog about a blogger who was caught in the middle of something much bigger than they ever thought possible.

I mean, it’s just a picture, right?

That’s absolutely false. It’s property no matter how many times you’ve altered or shared it.

It doesn’t even matter if you have a disclaimer, either.

Photographers have every right to keep their property in their “control.” I just feel like a moron that I never noticed this before.

And, as the second link in this post suggests, this isn’t happening to just bloggers.

I will admit that I’m nervous that I could get in trouble. I certainly never expect anything like that to happen, but how can I really rule it out now?

If it can happen to the big outlets, why couldn’t it happen to me? Writing this post is making me nervous about it.

Moving forward, you’ll see less pictures on this blog. I just always thought the photos added something to the posts. For me, it was fun to pick them out and sort through the one(s) that I ended up using.

It’s not the end of the road for pictures, though.

Thanks to several sites, I’ll be able to, hopefully , find pictures to go with my posts.

I can’t say that I won’t use Google Images again because it has the photos I use for my weekend posts.

To be fair, this isn’t the biggest change that my blog has seen, but it’s up there.

Now that I’ve written something, I’ll probably get sued since I’m bringing attention to myself.

Who knows?

Jonathan

4 Responses to No More Photos in Posts?

  1. A. Brown says:

    Why don’t you just get a camera like the people who take pictures seriously (probably those whose pictures you expropriate) and use your own images. Then you can find out how much even a cheap camera costs, and find out how much time it takes to edit a picture to look its most effective.

    I’ve never read your blog before. Probably won’t again. It doesn’t seem to have a clear point of view.

    I’m ancient, but I know that people get more out of pictures than the written word. I was a graduate school instructor at an Ivy League school towards the end of my last career (in the sciences). It wasn’t my first English degree that made me an effective teacher.

    A couple summers ago my daughter and I were going to run in a road race in north central Mass in a scenic arty town. We arrived the day before, and a young woman was selling gorgeous and expensive pastries out of her 25 year old beat up Chevy. We couldn’t afford to buy any–I make $15,000 a year. I asked if she sold online and if she had any photos to go with them. She answered respectively 1.) yes and 2.) no. So I took a bunch of photos and told her I’d send them to her.

    The pictures were gorgeous. No combination of the worlds flaky / peach / organic / almond / pie / tart / cherry / lattice / pastry / French / could describe her baking as well as a picture. I’d hoped she’d offer us at least one slice each, since together we don’t weigh 230 lbs and are 5’6″ and 5’9″. No. She said she’d give us photo credits.

    Now how wonderful was that.

    She had no qualms about charging $25 for a pie, but the four hours I spent photographing her products, rearranging them on a table top so that they’d be shown to their best, and then editing them with a photograph software that came with my $300 camera, which was nearly dead, well, that was worth a photo credit.

    • Hi,

      Thank you for your comment and thank you for reading.

      With a full-time job, I don’t have the time to sit and edit my own photos. I do have a camera, but no such software to seriously edit any photos. That’s a really good idea, though.

      I’m sorry to hear about your pie story.

      I make sure to give photo credits on any pictures that I have taken.

      Thanks again,

      Jonathan

      My blog is about me “Just Starting Out” in the field of Journalism. I’m a full-time reporter at a small newspaper in eastern Connecticut. I write about my experiences, what I’ve learned and what I see, while doing this every day. It’s not meant to be anything more than that. I guess you could say this is an open look into the start of my career in this evolving industry.

  2. A. Brown says:

    You’re a jerk. No wonder no one reads your blog. You don’t even read people’s letters for CONTENT. No wonder you steal people’s work. Why NOT JUST PLAGIARIZE, it’s going to be better than what you write.

Leave a Reply

