An Amazing Story

Willimantic Frog Bridge via ohiobarns.com

Willimantic Frog Bridge via ohiobarns.com

Night of rest becomes night of terror Homeless men beaten by bat-wielding teens

I wish I could say I wrote the story above.

I didn’t.

Louisa Owen Sonstroem did and it’s one of the best I’ve ever read. You can call me biased, but it’s going to win awards at the next CTSPJ awards. I can guarantee it.

Now, the circumstances of the story are awful. The story should never have happened in the first place.

Louisa took the news and ran with it.

Everyone that read it said the same thing in the newsroom — “Great story.” Our city editor still hasn’t stopped talking about it. And he shouldn’t.

The story is powerful, well-written and really demands action.

It makes you want to stand up and find out who attacked the two homeless men.

The story hits you on all sides and doesn’t let up. The separated grafs are perfect. You get little vignettes of the story piece-by-piece.

I don’t think I would have written the story that way. I don’t think I could have come up with what she did.

Even with the same notes, I’m pretty sure any story that I would have written wouldn’t even by in the same zip code as what she wrote.

Read the story and let me know what you think.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

