Watch Your Tweet

via cargocollective.com

via cargocollective.com

I learned in college that I needed to watch what I tweet.

When I go to the Chronicle, I knew that would continue.

I keep my Twitter feed pretty calm. I just tweet a lot. I really try hard not to swear about anything, but I do from time-to-time.

Each reporter is different and I get that. I have colleagues at other newspapers that tweet things that I would never dream of tweeting. That’s who they are and they are sticking to it.

We are all different.

The reason for this post comes a story I found on Twitter from The Awl.

At first, I didn’t think I was going to read the whole thing, but once I started, I couldn’t stop.

I realize that it may not have been the smartest thing for Brendan to tweet, but can you blame him?

It’s easy to let emotions get the better of you. I don’t care how much patience you have, either. Everyone has a boiling point.

With today’s social media it’s never been easier to let the entire world know how you are feeling. We take it for granted each day, but we’ve become a pretty brutally honest society.

I know I have to watch what I tweet.

One of my editors follows me on Twitter. I can assume she doesn’t watch everything I tweet. But, I can say with certainty that she would call me out on something she thought was questionable.

I mean, if I was a boss, that would be the first and last thing I would do at work. I would just be curious to know what everyone is saying, never mind the fact that they are more than likely saying something they shouldn’t have.

We see it on Facebook almost daily, with people complaining about their jobs, coworkers and whatever else is pissing them off at that point in time.

I’m not saying people don’t have the right to speak their mind, but it’s all at a cost. It all depends on if the wrong person sees it. Can we all say for certainty that it’s a wise decision? I think not.

It won’t take much for any of us to realize that what we say, or type, can come back to haunt us.

The consequences aren’t limited to losing your job and public shaming. People get into fights on Twitter all day, every day. That shouldn’t go without a warning. We all need to be careful. Something that won’t upset you could upset someone else.

We need to be mindful of those around us.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

