With Twitter

via digitaltrends.com

via digitaltrends.com

I live on Twitter.

I’m on it all day and, usually, all night.

I don’t miss a day.

It’s not an obsession. It’s a “hunger” to know what’s going on that brings me back each morning.

I seldom check my inbox first when I wake up. Twitter is already busy at 5:30 a.m., but I make sure to check that I didn’t miss anything the night before.

Many of my family and friends call it an addiction, but I really don’t think there’s a problem. I’d have to agree, however, that Twitter is like a drug. Once I get on, it’s really hard to stop scrolling, tweeting and favoriting.

Others can call that a problem, but I say it’s a part of my job. I can’t even begin to count the number of times I’ve found a story via Twitter. The most recent story I found off of Twitter was the shooting of a police officer in Willimantic. There are some days where I find nothing, sure, but most of the time we are finding information on our towns on a daily basis.

Though none of my coworkers are on Twitter, I do tweet one of the Chronicle’s editors on pretty frequent basis, when I find something worth sharing.

Mediabistro disagrees with me on what I don’t think is an addiction.. Via their “How do you know if you’re addicted to Twitter?,” I am an addict.

The only one, I feel, I’m guilty of is always being on Twitter.

I guess it’s distracting and an annoyance, but I really feel that, at times, it is necessary to check what’s going on. Whether I’m on duty or not, I still feel like I should know what’s going on in our towns. I know I’m not getting paid for it, which is fine. I don’t expect to get paid for it. I do it because I want to and that I think it’s important.

While I’m at work in the morning, I do have a heavy presence. But throughout the rest of the day, I’m usually on much more often. I have no set schedule.

I believe their is a happy medium with addiction and not using Twitter. I probably lean closer to the addiction side, but that’s okay. That’s how I’m doing things and I’m more than okay with it.

For those wondering, I can go a day without tweeting or checking Twitter.

Am I a nerd for liking Twitter and tweeting so much? Probably. Does that bother me? Not in the least.

Twitter is an insanely important asset for journalists.

It shouldn’t be ignored

@jonstank

Leave a Reply

