New Chairs

via fineartamerica.com

via fineartamerica.com

When I’m not sitting at my desk in Willimantic, I’m sitting in meetings in my four towns.

The chairs differ from town-to-town, but they are all pretty bad. They don’t help your back and they make your butt fall asleep almost immediately.

In  fact, just this week I was having trouble with a folding chair. With no cushion, I couldn’t get comfortable. I tried everything I could think of, including slouching, leaning, tapping and reaching.

It wasn’t working and I eventually gave in and dealt with it.

It’s not always that bad. That’s on one end of the spectrum.

Other towns I cover have great chairs. They aren’t anything to call home about, but they have cushions.

Nothing beats a chair with cushions, besides a nice chair that has wheels, but that’s another post.

Chairs with cushions are amazing. Your butt is safe and you can almost “relax” while you are at the meeting. Sitting in a chair for two or three hours in a cushioned chair is like flying first class. At least, it is to me.

Let me be honest, I’m not always thinking about chairs. They topic has never come up with my coworkers and I doubt it ever will. That doesn’t mean it’s not important.

I’m not doing this post to get you to start worrying about chairs, but to remember that it’s not going to be as comfortable as you think.

At times, you may have to stand for an entire meeting because the chairs are so bad. Believe me, it’s happened and it’ll happen again.

So, when I walked into a meeting in one of my towns this week and there were new chairs, I freaked. I didn’t say anything out-loud, but my face gave it away. I couldn’t believe it.

It was Christmas in July and I was more than happy with it. Unfortunately, it was a quick meeting, but I enjoyed it all the same.

Next time you sit down, think about the chair.

Seriously.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

