Story of the Week 7/28

Summer isn’t supposed to be this busy.

Once graduations ended, I mentally prepared myself to really start digging for stories and get ready for summer.

I’ll admit that I wasn’t prepared for this. I don’t think any of my colleagues were ready, either.

Today’s post is about the breadth of what we’ve been keeping track of and writing.

Looking beyond disabilities Camp’s goal is to form future leaders

This feature fell into my lap this week. We had gotten an e-mail a week before about it and my boss and I decided to cover it.

We weren’t expecting much.

When I got there, I knew we had something special and I made sure to get as much information as I could. I talked to a ton of people and I could have easily had a 40″ story. I was really happy with the way it came out and I’m glad we covered it.

It really brightened up the paper on Saturday and I couldn’t believe how awesome the entire event was. It really was lucky.

I highly recommend the story.

Samuolis enters ‘not guilty’ plea

We’ve been following this story extensively since it occurred on June 25. We’ve been going to court and keeping tabs on the case with the police departments involved and the neighborhood.

It’s not something you would ever think would happen in Willimantic, but it did. It could have happened anywhere.

It’s not as high-profile as I thought other papers and stations would have made it. The big names tend to forget about the cases as they move along the judicial process. I wasn’t expecting that.

No matter what anyone else is doing, we are going to cover it all the way through. All of the reporters can cover courts and we sure aren’t going to drop the ball on this one. We owe it to our community. We need to keep them informed. Period. They deserve it.

It’s a graphic story, but it’s more than worthy of a read, or two.

Jonathan

 

 

Leave a Reply

