Not a Story You Want to Write

via 1.bp.blogspot.com

via 1.bp.blogspot.com

I’ve waited to write this post for some time.

I’m still not sure how to go about it.

Being a reporter means that you’ll have to cover things you may not want to.

At the end of the day, this is a job and I have things to do. Whether I know they are coming or not, I have to follow things that happen in my towns and in our coverage area.

I don’t have to like everything that I write about. There I said it.

And I’m okay with that.

I really don’t think it’s very realistic to have that kind of expectation.

When I first started, I thought that’s how it was supposed to be. I was wrong. Very wrong.

I write what I have to write and I still sleep fine at night. I try not to let certain stories weigh on me, but I do my job and I give 110 percent every day.

I’m always tuned into my beats and our paper. I’m addicted to our coverage area. If you don’t believe me, go through the over 400 posts on this blog.

Obviously, if there is a conflict of interest with a story, bring it to an editor’s attention. They don’t know what you don’t tell them.

If you have a problem with a story, keep it to yourself. This job isn’t easy and it certainly isn’t very forgiving. Get your job done and carry on. That’s all an editor can ask for.

If someone pisses you off, you’re probably doing your job.

They don’t cover this in college. Not that I blame them.

An assignment is an assignment. The copy just won’t write itself. You have to put your professional pants on and do your job. Plain and simple.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

