Covering Things Digitally

I have a lot to work on.

I haven’t been shy about that, at all. I never will be.

I should have tried harder in college to test myself digitally. I had Twitter down, but I left it at that.

I’m not good with video editing and my photography skills still need honing.

Photography may not be my strong suit, but I’m confident that I can take good pictures. That’s the key. With video editing, I’m lost.

We aren’t a digital first paper, so I haven’t had to truly push myself.

I’m not saying that I’m lazy, but I’m certainly not pushing myself with skills that I should already have. Looking at other papers, it’s pretty intimidating for me. I know I can write with the best of them, but that’s where my confidence ends.

Print deadlines and writing come first for me, but digital is the future and I have to make that effort. If I don’t, I’ll be left behind.

I mean, I’m already behind as I write this post. That’s pretty scary to think about.

I’m not truly sure how to go about this. I’m welcome for ideas.

I don’t want to be that guy that buys a “Video Editing for Dummies” book, but maybe that could be a jumping off point for me. Money is tight right now, so it can’t be too costly.

I feel lost in a way.

That’s my own fault, as I said before. I should have made the efforts.

Call me a chicken, I guess. At some point I’m going to have to dig down and start because I don’t want to get lost in the shuffle.

I want to be able to do everything. I won’t be perfect at everything, but having each skill on a resume hopefully would set me apart to some degree, no?

If this means going back to school, we’ll have another whole post.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

