Stuck in the Mud….

My car from Wednesday morning

My car from Wednesday morning

20130529_114742

Yeah. Last week I got my car stuck in the mud and had to call AAA.

If you don’t have AAA, I recommend getting it because it’s invaluable. There was no way I was going to be able to get the car out myself.

House a total loss after blaze

At the scene of a fire, I wasn’t about to ask any of the almost 15 fire departments to help me out. They were busy enough.

I made the mistake of parking too far off of the road. I got to the scene and I rushed myself. I should have known better.

I didn’t correct myself before I got out of the car. I assumed that everything was going to be fine.

I was wrong.

After I was done at the scene of the fire, I made my way back to my car and I knew I had a problem.

Since it had been raining all week and that morning, my car had actually slid a couple feet off of the road and into a ditch.

I couldn’t back up because there was a huge “stump” of asphalt behind my car. I wish I knew why that was there, but even if it wasn’t I still wouldn’t have been able to get out of mud.

I couldn’t move forward because the Jeep in front of me was too close and I would have sunk even further had I really started rocking the car back and forth.

I was pretty pissed off, but I didn’t want to wreck my car.

AAA came not an hour after I called and the guy was done in less than 15 minutes. I said thank you at least 100 times and repeatedly asked him not to tell anyone. He laughed every time, but said he’s “seen worse,” which made me feel a lot better.

It was a pretty interesting learning experience. I’ve been to a lot of accidents and fires, but I’ve never had this problem before. I should have known the road would have been blocked off and that I wouldn’t have to be so far off of the road.

This is just another reason for me to remind myself to slow down and take a breath.

I’m not saying I should relax, but I should certainly keep myself and my car safe before I do anything.

Have you ever gotten stuck in the mud?

Jonathan

2 Responses to Stuck in the Mud….

  1. opiningquill says:

    Always think ahead as to the consequences of your present actions, easier to say than to do.

    • Yeah.

      I know that I should have, but I was in the “zone” and didn’t even think twice about myself, never mind the car.

      It was a lesson learned. You can trust me on that.

      Thanks for commenting.

      Jonathan

Leave a Reply

