Story of the Week 5/26

via defense.gov "The U.S. cemetery in Cambridge, England, contains the remains of 3,812 of American war dead from World War II."

via defense.gov “The U.S. cemetery in Cambridge, England, contains the remains of 3,812 of American war dead from World War II.”

I had two Memorial Day stories this past week and I wanted to highlight both of them.

They both fell into my lap and I’m really happy with the way they came out.

Lebanon FFA students decorate veterans’ graves

For this one, I went to a cemetery in Lebanon and pestered some veterans and vo-ag students placing germanium at veterans’ graves.

It was a really easy feature and I’m glad Roxanne and I were able to make it there.

It was really muggy that morning, but that didn’t stop them.

 

Memorial Day: A time to remember or celebrate?

This next feature, which ran Saturday, was all Mike’s idea. I won’t give it all away, but it’s certainly one of my better stories since I started.

I seem to be saying that a lot about my writing, but this time I really mean it.

I won’t give any of it away, but it’s really in-depth. I talked to almost eight different veterans and was able to get all of their perspectives on Memorial Day.

Thank you for coming to my blog today.

To any and all veterans, I thank you personally for your service and your commitment to this country.

And thanks to all those who served who gave up all of their tomorrows for us.

We are forever in your debt.

Jonathan

 

Leave a Reply

