Let Feedback Fuel Your Work

Compliments are few and far between.

You can’t let them get to your head. I’ve used them to fuel my work and keep up at a pace that I’m comfortable with.

It’s nice to get compliments. That I cannot deny.

I almost wish there were more of them, but then I’d have to question myself. If there were too many, that could be a problem. I don’t think I have to go into detail with that tangent.

I’ve found that I work at a certain pace. I keep myself busy all the time and that’s how I work. I know a lot of people don’t like to work like that, though.

I’m calling all of my towns on a consistent basis. I’m not necessarily looking for stories, but, rather, I’m looking to see how everyone is doing.

People notice that. The more you work at it the more the compliments will come.

Compliments come in many forms, too. Some of them can actually be a bit more than what you thought they were going to be.

I had one compliment go all the way to my publisher, which I hadn’t expected. I won’t name names, but it was a prominent town official in one of my bigger towns. I thought he was joking, but he wasn’t.

He went as far as to leave a message on my publisher’s phone and sent an e-mail to my head editor.

To say the least, I was shocked and almost embarrassed  I’m not giving anyone preferential treatment and I don’t want it come off as if I am. I wasn’t cornered, but I felt a bit awkward the next time I spoke to him.

I thanked him and he brushed it off like it wasn’t a big deal. I expected that and we haven’t discussed it since. I’ve kept the same “distance” and I’ve done my job the same way I have since I started, with hard work and dedication.

Let compliments fuel you. Give yourself some time to gloat, if you want, but get back to work.

There are more stories to break.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

