Calling a Story In

via inhabitat.com

via inhabitat.com

I can’t take any credit for this post. I only did the typing for Louisa.

On Thursday, the Connecticut State Police held a news conference at 10 a.m., which is an hour before our deadline.

My editors committed to having a story and a photo on the front page for Thursday’s paper, so Louisa had to get creative.

She wrote one story before she left to go to ECSU presser. Before she left for good, she made sure to pre-write for the presser, so when she called in the rest of her story, we would already have something to go with.

She even thought to print out what she had already written so that she would be able to point the person who would finish the story for her.

It was brilliant. I ended up taking the call, but she did a great job.

She wrote in her car, after the presser, and then called in the rest of her story.

I took the call since I was already off deadline, but I knew we only had barely 15 minutes left to spare before our “hard” deadline. I listened and typed, while she dictated what she wanted. I read everything back to her slowly, to make sure that’s what she wanted.

It really worked out great. I kept my eye on the clock and sped her along as needed. I could feel my editors staring at me on the phone.

It wasn’t a groundbreaking story, but it was something that we needed to get in. As the hometown newspaper, it would have been pretty embarrassing to have had that story run a day later than everyone else. It would not have sat well with anyone in the news department.

I’m glad we did it. It was a great exercise for Louisa and I and it kept the editors on their toes. They had to edit the story, place it and then send it to the presses.

As great as it was, I hope we don’t have to do that every week.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

