Story of the Week 5/5

via wikimedia.org

via wikimedia.org

Get shopping, it’s tag sale time

I can’t remember the last time my family had a tag sale.

I know we didn’t make very much money, but we did get rid of a lot of stuff that my brother and I weren’t going to use. It was a lot of work and we certainly have enough stuff to do two or three more.

I proposed the idea of a tag sale story to Mike at last week’s news meeting. He immediately loved the idea, but not before making a few changes.

I had originally pitched the idea because several of my towns had town-wide tag sales on Saturday. I thought of the show American Pickers and Storage Wars and tried that approach — the adventure and mystery of tag sales. Mike liked that approach, but he wanted me to find some experts and spread the intrigue to flea markets, as well.

I was able to do that and more, I feel, with the feature. It worked out perfectly. I talked to as many people as I could and Mike said he liked it.

The art for the feature was a different story. Mike and I both had forgotten to put in a photo slip for tag sale pictures the week before the piece was to be run. We realized on Monday that we missed the weekend and that we could have had a problem.

Thankfully, Roxanne pulled through and found a perfect yard sale for the feature and it all worked out great. She got pictures Thursday afternoon, which was cutting it a bit close for comfort. I was actually pretty worried Friday morning, before I saw the pictures.

I made sure to write the story on Wednesday because I knew I was going to make changes to it and I didn’t want to feel rushed on Friday. I made sure I didn’t rush and had plenty of time. I did end up making a few changes. Mike actually tweaked my lead a bit, too.

I always seem to bury the news angle of my features and I’m not sure why. It’s a bad habit and I think I do it without noticing.  It’s something I really need to work on.

Either way, this feature was fun and easy to write.

Let me know what you think.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

