Story of the Week 4/21

via bp.blogspot.com

via bp.blogspot.com

I haven’t fished in a very long time. The trout fishing season opened yesterday and, with some convincing, I was able to write a nice feature and sidebar for opening day on Friday.

How’s the fishing? Drop us a line (Feature)

Fish of lore and legend (Sidebar)

I had to convince Mike that I could make the story make sense.

We didn’t do an opening day story last year and I thought it would be a good idea.

It turned out to be pretty fun to work on and really easy to write. The only problem I had was putting it all together on Friday, which was one of the craziest days I’ve ever had in a newsroom.

Mike had the night shift on Friday night, so Charlie and Ron read it and didn’t have any questions. I put a lot of time and effort into that one.

I made sure I called a lot of people, so it was more of them talking and not me. I didn’t want to risk coming off as someone who didn’t know what they were talking about.

The feature was pretty straight forward, but I really had a lot of fun on the sidebar, which, thanks to Mike’s idea, I themed off the hit-show “River Monsters.” I recommend watching at least one episode. It’s worth at least one viewing. I had seen it before and told Mike that I could try and take a whack at it.

That sidebar was tough, though. I had to ask a lot of different questions and make sure I had enough for an entire sidebar. I didn’t want it to be just a breakout box.

I’m glad I got the space, even with what was going on in Boston Friday morning. It was featured on the bottom of the front page, which I was fine with. I told my editors I didn’t care where they put it. I don’t think they were worried about my story because we were all glued to the TV.

I hope this coming week is better than the one we just had.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

