Boston Explosions

via bloximages.newyork1.vip.townnews.com/

via bloximages.newyork1.vip.townnews.com

Here are some front pages.

via Newseum.org

via Newseum.org

boston herald

via Newseum,org

And I wanted to bring your attention to a Poynter article that focused on how people were covering the attacks.

The first, by , is a Storify piece on how things happened and how journalists decided to approach coverage of the events.

As of 10 p.m. Monday, three people were confirmed dead by Boston’s police commissioner.

I have to warn you some of the images/videos are graphic. Some of it may be disturbing for many.

I highly recommend you give the piece a look because it helps to put things in perspective as everything was taking place.

I have to admit that I was one of the insensitive reporters that tried to contact a local official from one of the towns we cover. He was a runner in the marathon in the vicinity of the blasts.

I wasn’t sure how to get in touch with him. I made sure he was okay first before I even tried to contact him. I knew I had to do that, or else I would have been “one of those” reporters. I didn’t want to be like that.

When I found out he was okay, I immediately tweeted and Facebook messaged my source. I realize now, several hours after, that I may have been a bit overzealous in trying to contact him. I get that, but I have a pretty good rapport with him, so I wasn’t too worried.

Looking back, I could have waited to contact him. Maybe I should have. If I could do it all over again, I don’t think that I would have done anything differently. I wanted to confirm that I would be able to get the story for my editors. I had the paper in mind, including our readers.

Not hearing from him for several hours, I reached out to him on his personal cell phone via text. I told him I heard what had happened and that I hoped that he and his family were okay. He responded quicker than I thought he would have.

I waited 10 minutes after that brief conversation and asked him if it was okay if he would want to talk to me tomorrow. He responded with a “yes” fairly quickly.

I’ll have the story for today, but my thinking was to put everything in perspective for the Chronicle’s readers. I wanted to give them an eyewitness account of what happened and how people reacted. It’s one thing to read a national story on the attack, but it’s another to read it from someone everyone knows. I really think it’ll help our readers “feel” what everyone is Boston is feeling. I truly believe that.

Check back tomorrow for a post on the story and my interview with my source.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

