Robots?

via fanpop.com

via fanpop.com

I’ve already talked about drones possibly coming into journalism, but there are some other robot-based ideas that are coming about.

I don’t know if it will make my job obsolete, like robots did with car manufacturing, but it’s something for me to keep an eye on. I mean, no one wants to see their job go to waste.

I came across this post by   earlier this month and it caught my eye. 

Silverman seems to be pretty gung-ho for the machines. I understand where he is coming from, since we already use processing for many different kinds of stories. It just doesn’t sit well with me. I don’t really have a reason why.

It just makes me think of Terminator and I, Robot, where robots take over the world.

That’s probably a pretty unrealistic consequence of  machines helping journalists out, but I’m just being honest.

I don’t want them taking over my job. I’m sure that’s many years away, but I’m already worrying about it, I guess. I could be overreacting  but you just wait.

I can’t wait to welcome our robot journalist colleagues into the newsroom (or server room).

Newsrooms already rely on machine intelligence/processing, and increasingly so. We use machines to help us predict the next big story, to inform how we should manage a homepage, and even to write basic earnings stories and other data-driven reporting.

Yes, the robots are coming. And I see a role for them in quality assurance and accuracy.

I can appreciate real-time fact-checking, typo catchers and even plagarism catchers. I really can.

It’s just scary. No one wants to be replaced. No one wants to see their job become obsolete.

The editors and I don’t talk about it, at all. I try not to bring things like that up.

I make off-hand jokes about the profession with our head editor, but nothing more. It’s a touchy subject. We can all joke about it, but that’s as far as it gets.

When I see things going on in the profession that are worth a forward, I send it to the editors. It’s rare, but it shows them I care about what I’m doing and that I’m concerned about what we do.

I’ll leave it at that.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

