Budget Season: Stress Anyone?

via academyofmusicandfinearts.com

via academyofmusicandfinearts.com

Obviously budget season math isn’t as difficult as the math above, but it’s arguably just as stressful.

I’ve been having a bit of trouble with my budget stories this season. It’s actually pretty frustrating because I really felt like I did pretty well last year. I’m not sure what to attribute it to, but I’ve noticed. It’s bothered me to the point where I felt the need to write this post on it.

It’s pretty simple. I’m getting overwhelmed, at times, writing stories that I should be able to write in my sleep. If that sounds cocky fine. But budget stories aren’t rocket science. You either have the numbers or you don’t. They all should be written the same way and there isn’t room for any extra “fluff.”

This time around, I’m dropping the ball. I shouldn’t have editors asking me silly questions of why my numbers don’t make sense. I shouldn’t have any questions, period.

In my mind, everything should be smooth sailing during budget season, as long as I have the numbers.

This may be nitpicking, but it’s really important for me to not struggle with these types of stories. I pride myself on being  right the first time. I hate wasting editors time on things like these.

This budget season is a bit different, I suppose. Budgets aren’t coming flat, as many of our towns have done for years. Things have reached a point where town officials have nothing left to cut. If you just go town-by-town it’s pretty telling what the situations are.

I don’t know what the rest of this budget season has in store for me. It won’t be easy, I know that.

But, I’m ready.

Jonathan

One Response to Budget Season: Stress Anyone?

  1. Pingback: It’s Finally Spring | Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

