Story of the Week 3/31

via p.twimg.com Micah inbetween U.S. Senator Richard Blumenthal and U.S. Congressman Joe Courtney

via p.twimg.com Micah inbetween U.S. Senator Richard Blumenthal and U.S. Congressman Joe Courtney

For the second week in a row, I know that I’ve written one of my best stories of my career thus far. It’s one that I’ll always remember.

Read it here. Healing continues for Coventry hero Red Cross to honor Welintukonis Thursday

I’ve covered Micah and his family before, but not like this. Rox and I were able to spend over almost two hours with Micah and his family and just talk.

I had a list of questions, but that lasted about a half hour. The rest we spent chit chatting and seeing how things are going.

He’s easy to talk to. You can tell he thinks about what he says before he says it. He takes his time and each word is chosen carefully. He’s quiet, until you see him open up with his son, Hunter.

I keep in touch with his wife, Camilla Byam, almost weekly. I just ask her how the baby is and how she’s doing. Hunter is almost three months old, so she’s pretty busy.

It’s relationships like that where you get the nice features and updates that other papers don’t have time for. All it takes is a bit more effort and you have a longtime source.

It doesn’t hurt when they are great people.

Jonathan

One Response to Story of the Week 3/31

  1. Pingback: Story of the Week 7/14 | Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

