I Need to Take More Pictures

via my instagram

via my instagram

This is really obvious. I shouldn’t need to do an entire post on this, but I want to.

Maybe if I write it enough, it’ll end up happening.

I talked to our head photographer on Friday about it. She said she would set up a backup camera that we have for me. I was going to take it home this weekend, but I thought against it. I’m not sure why I did that, but I think that I’m going to take the camera with me next week and take some shots around my towns.

I don’t really have any major plans, but I do have a couple of ideas in mind. They don’t involve people, but I  think they can work.

Each day when I drive into work the sunrise is pretty awesome in Coventry. It has to be nice outside, but there are two locations I would want to take pictures.

The first is by Hytone Farm on Route 44. It’s got a nice open field with the barn for the cows right next to it. I’d have to get out of my car and walk around a bit to get the right shot, but it wouldn’t take me no more than 10 minutes. And it has to be early in the morning to get the sunrise with the right colors.

The second is by the Bidwell Tavern on Main Street in the village section of town. If you look south on Route 31 (still on Main Street) the sunrise can be seen down the stretch. As of now, I think it would be a nice shot, but I’d again have to brave the cold to get the right shot. For that one, you’d have the road, church and small businesses in the shot.

I’d also like to get some sunset shots around the Lebanon Town Green, but that’s a whole other post, I think.

I don’t know if I want to take the camera to meetings yet, to practice, but I think I should. I’m not sure how easy that would be, while trying to take notes. With my small Nikon, I’ve found it difficult to transition between notetaking and taking pictures. It’s not something I find fun, but, if I want to get better at everything, I have to practice,” right?

Jonathan

2 Responses to I Need to Take More Pictures

  1. Good luck! Practice practice that works best. For town meetings take pictures when they are talking about the things you’re not interested in. I find it hard to concentrate on what they are saying while I am taking pictures.

    • Thanks Marie!! I appreciate it. It’s going to be a work in progress for me, but I have to get better sometime.

      I have yet to try and do both at a town meeting, but I should try. Easier said, than done. I’m sure.

      I just need to remind myself to take the extra camera that we have at the Chronicle. haha

      -Jon

Leave a Reply

