My Chromebook

via google.com

via google.com

Yes, I got a Chromebook.

I know I said I wasn’t sure and that I was going to wait last week, but I lied. I had a late birthday party two weekends ago and got some money. I thought about it a little more and I couldn’t help myself.

I ordered it on a Saturday and got it the following Monday.

It wasn’t charged when I opened the box, but after a 1.3 mile run outside, it was more than charged to play with. I’ve had only a couple small issues with it, so far.

Key specs (only $250)

  • 11.6’’ screen (Not a huge difference from my Macbook Pro 13″)
  • 0.7 inches / 2.42 pounds (It’s hardly noticeable)
  • 6.5 hours of battery (It’s gotten close to that, but I use it too much to ever get that much)
  • Boots up in less than 10 seconds (I’ve clocked it at seven and eight seconds)
  • 100 GB of Google Drive free for 2 years (I haven’t signed up for that yet)

I’m an avid twitter user (@jonstank) and the Chrome Web Store has a laughable offering of Twitter apps that are worth my time. I’ve tried many of them, but none compare to the “Twitter for Mac” that I use on my Macbook Pro. It’s pretty frustrating, but with my iPhone I’m surviving. I’m utilizing twitter.com for the time being. It’s not what I’m used to, but that’s okay.

The other problem I’ve noticed is the touchpad, which is almost as smooth as my Macbook Pro, gets stuck sometimes. It could just be me slamming on the touchpad, but it’s noticeable and can be pretty annoying. I’m going to keep an eye on it because I can’t use a laptop that does that. I don’t have the patience for it. I’m not sure why it happens, either.

As for the pros on the Chromebook, they are plentiful. The size, weight, battery life and look are perfect. I’m using Google Drive, instead of e-mailing myself my stories and everything has been going great. I used it for a full week and over the weekend with no major problems.

The Chromebook also charges really, really fast. I haven’t timed it to be able to have data to compare it to my Macbook Pro, but , if I had to guess, it charges at least three times faster than my Apple laptop.

I’ve gone back to my Macbook Pro a couple of times over the week and if noticed that I miss my Chromebook. It’s kind of funny when I think about it.

I’ve even used Netflix multiple times and I only had a problem one time, but I think that was my fault. I was really, really far away from my home’s wireless source. I haven’t had a problem since, which is great.

I’ve been really blown away by this laptop. It’s perfect for me and the keyboard is still taking some getting used to. I’m happy with my purchase and I would recommend the Chromebook to anyone.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

