A Chromebook You Say?

via Google

via Google

Before you say anything, hear me out.

I love my Macbook Pro. I’ve had no problems with it since I bought it over two years ago. It’s a little beat up, but it’s with me every day.

I’ve wanted an iPad or tablet for some time now. It’s more of a fascination, but I’ve never really thought I’d ever get one. It’s nice to think that I need one, but with my iPhone and laptop, I have all that I need.

Or do I?

I get nervous leaving my laptop in my car and lugging it around each day. I’d like to have a secondary laptop just for work and browsing that I can use and, to be frank, beat up without having to shell out another $1,600.

I think having a Chromebook, or something like it, would lighten my bag and ease my anxiety with my Macbook Pro. All I use my laptop for at work is browsing/typing/emailing and that’s it. I’m not really doing anything off-line. I’m not saving anything. (The Chromebook doesn’t let you save anything, yet, with Google Drive you can)

It all makes sense to me, including the price. I have $250. That’s manageable. The iPad I wanted, along with the accessories was over a grand. It’s going to save me the hassle of lugging my laptop around, while, at the same time, making my life so much easier. At least I think it will.

CNET says “Overall, the Samsung Chromebook is a solid device for the price when used for occasional Web tasks, especially for Google-centric people.”

MIT Technology Review says “At $249, the Wi-Fi-only Samsung Chromebook is worth buying for anyone who wants a cheap, functional laptop that’s also light and responsive. Acer’s $199 Chromebook is probably also a good buy. But if Google wants its computers to make sense as anything more than the cheapest serviceable laptops on the market, it will have to either subsidize 3G data or fix Chrome OS’s offline limitations.”

Citeworld says “I have to admit despite the limitations, I enjoyed using this machine and in many ways, I wish it were a bit better quality than it is, but given that it’s just $249, it’s really an amazing deal and would make an ideal machine for a student or as a second device for leaving around the house or for traveling when you wanted a device with a built-in keyboard, rather than using a tablet.

In the end, though, it seems that if the tablet killed the netbook and has had a significant impact on laptop sales, ultimately consumers might prefer to use a tablet for the same type of functions — and get better hardware for a similar price point.”

That doesn’t make this decision easy for me, at all. I would like to get something in the next six months.

Google could come out with a whole new design/hardware package with their Chromebook line. I’m more than inclined to wait for them. In the mean time, I’m going to keep reading reviews and seeing what’s out there. My budge is tight and that’s something I have to pay attention to.

Why am I writing about this?

Well, it’s simple. With money always being a concern for everyone, I figured that it would be wise to highlight what I’m thinking about doing with mine. There always things that we want, but there also things that we need. I really think a Chromebook is a wise decision for a reporter, myself included.

To be continued…

Jonathan

One Response to A Chromebook You Say?

  1. Pingback: My Chromebook | Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

