Always Have a Plan B

The game plan yesterday to pick up the affidavits, rush back to the Chronicle newsroom and have me write the stories as fast as I could.

I’m not going to be bashful in this post, since it’s hugely important and one of the craziest days I’ve had at work.

Affidavit: Carilli impregnated teen victim

Affidavit: Fragoso admits to having relationship with teen\

I got to the courthouse way too early. I got there so early the free parking garage wasn’t even open yet. I had to park in the street and wait. I waited a long time. I won’t say exactly how long because, looking back, I was really anxious and should have known better. I just listened to music and chatted with the other people in line for the courthouse.

Just for some information: Deadline for outside stories is 10:30 a.m., if not earlier. I knew I was going to be cutting it close. I was already nervous before I even got to the courthouse.

After the courthouse finally opened, I was one of the first in line to ask for the affidavits from the court clerks office.

Cue bad luck.

Since it was just a couple minutes after 9 a.m., the affidavits weren’t copied and ready to be distributed. One of the clerks told me to wait and that she would tell me when they were ready. I waited 15 minutes before I called my boss and told him the bad news. He said to wait it out and keep checking in with him. By this time I was quietly freaking out, trying to be as patient as possible.

Forty minutes after I had first asked for them, I paid my $11 for the 11 pages and I called my boss. He told me to just go home (I live in the same town as the courthouse) and write the first story from home. I can’t believe we didn’t think of it before. It was brilliant.

I drove home as fast as I could, within the law’s limits, while trying to read the affidavits as best I could. I got home after 10 a.m. (remember the presses turn on at 11 a.m.) and wrote as fast as I can.

I had done a little prewriting the day before, but since I couldn’t predict the affidavit, I had only pre-written so much.

I sent in my story around 10:20 a.m., called my editor and told him it was ready. I waited about 20 minutes and called the other editors, since I never got the call back that the story was okay. It ended up being okay and I could finally come into work.

I’m glad Mike thought of me gong home to write at home. Otherwise, we wouldn’t have been first with the affidavit stories.

When I got to work I finished writing the other affidavit story and made sure all three of the editors on the day shift read it. I took my time with the second affidavit because I had more room. The editors let me put a bit more than I did in the first story.

I think both stories came out pretty good. It’s a great feeling to get both in for Friday and the weekend edition papers. It was nice to see the plan work out, even if it was our plan B.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

