Story of the Week 2/24

Ghost test results revealed

via coventryct.org

via coventryct.org

If you don’t know what the Nathan Hale Homestead is do yourself a favor.

In the last year, I’ve written over 30 stories about the homestead and it’s “partner” the Coventry Regional Farmers’ Market. I know the directors and some of the staff. It’s a great location and a ton of fun.

This week, the homestead was featured on the Syfy channel’s hit show “Ghost Hunters.” The homestead had a complete 30-minutes devoted to how haunted it is. I had a meeting during the show, so I had to DVR it and watch it when I got out.

Thankfully, I could actually get paid for sitting on a couch, whilst taking notes, and watching the show. I was able to get pretty good notes, since I was able to pause and rewind whenever I had a question on a quote.

I won’t describe the show because I want you to read the story. It was a fun story to write and a good experience in doing something a bit different in my every day sort of work/meetings schedule. It was nice to spice things up and think outside the box.

I was able to be creative without being fake. Sometimes I feel that my features come off corny and lame because I try too hard. With this feature, I was able to be myself and just write. After watching the show, it all came to me and I was able to write the story fairly quickly without any hangups.

Let me know what you think of the story.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

