What You Should Be Reading 2/23

via nytimes.com/

via nytimes.com

If you don’t know who Oscar Pistorius is.. you should now. This week has been full of insane news and notes from South Africa. I implore you to Google this case and read up. This is not about to get out of the media anytime soon.

The next three stories come from Muck Rack. Please check out Muck Rack if you don’t know what it is. It’s defintely worth your time.

Bitter Pill: Why Medical Bills Are Killing Us by is a must read for anyone and everyone. At 25,000 words, I have yet to finish the piece, but I highly reccomend it.

Pakistani man accuses ambassador to U.S. of blasphemy by Asim Tanveer should be a read for you this weekend, as well. Oh and just so you know, the crime carries the death penalty.

Survey Finds That Fish Are Often Not What Label Says by Kirk Johnson is something that really blew me out of the water.

“That tempting seafood delight glistening on the ice at the market, or sizzling at the restaurant table in its aromatic jacket of garlic and ginger? It may not be at all what you think, or indeed even close, according to a big new study of fish bought and genetically tested in 12 parts of the country — in restaurants, markets and sushi bars — by a nonprofit ocean protection group, Oceana,” Johnson writes.

I’ll leave you with that. It’s a great read and will make you think twice about what you order. Trust me.

Jonathan

2 Responses to What You Should Be Reading 2/23

  1. Marie Brennan says:

    You pick very interesting articles to put on your “What You Should Be Reading” blog.

    Read the Time Mag health care article. Very interesting, especially for those of us who don’t have he health insurance. They can get away with charging so much because we (humans) will do almost anything to save our skins. Check out the book Job in the bible Chapter 2 verse 4. Read before and after it to get the context but it is rather true. “Satan answered the Lord, ‘Skin for skin! There is nothing the man will grudge to save himself…'”

    Maybe you could start a StankiewiczReport (like Drudgereport.com)

    • I try to find interesting things that I would like to read and just highlight them. I wish that I had done this all along with my blog. It’s an easy post because I read all week and it’s fun for me to highlight the best or most interesting stories of the week.

      And Ive read that before! For an english class in college and you’re right!!

      As for my own site… I don’t think I would be able to be succesful with that. There are so many sites out there that do that now. I would have to find a specific niche.. Any ideas???? Haha

      And thanks for reading Marie!!!!

Leave a Reply

