Understand What’s Going On Around You

via static.tvtropes.org

via static.tvtropes.org

I made a dumb mistake.

I didn’t know my second story for Monday was on deadline and I almost didn’t finish it. In laymen’s terms I “took it easy” with my second story. I really had no idea that my editor wanted it.

I usually finish my stories fairly quickly, so, when Mike asked me where my second story was, I was dumbfounded.

I had almost forgot to finish my story. It was pretty much done, but I hadn’t put any speed into writing that story. Thankfully, all I had to do was proof the story and send it to him. He wasn’t mad at all. I think he was just surprised that I wasn’t already finished with both of them.

He liked my second story so much that he put it on the front page 25 minutes before deadline. It was pretty meaty, but I didn’t think that he was going to put it outside. I had no idea. I should have known better, though.

That is a prime example of what not to do on deadline. I’ve said this time and time again. You have to be ready and you have to be aware of what’s going on around you.

I felt like an idiot for a good half-hour, but I should know better. Plain and simple.

I know that I should finish my stories each day, as if they are both on early deadline. That may sound crazy, but that’s the way I think. As a reporter at a tiny paper, I have to cognizant of the fact that if a story falls through, we have a seriously problem.

That problem can be avoided, rather simply, if every reporter understands the importance of working together. We all rely on each other, but sometimes we forget about it.

I should have known better.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

