Story of the Week 2/17

via i2.cdn.turner.com/

via i2.cdn.turner.com

Snowstorm blitzes region Blizzard of 2013 still has local towns scrambling From Monday

Towns try to get back to normal after storm From Tuesday

It’s snowing as I write this. I don’t think we are getting three (3) feet today, but I’m certainly not happy about all of this snow.

Coming into work on Monday, I knew we needed town coverage. As a local paper, that’s what we are known for. We’ve done it for over 135 years. People have come to expect it and frankly, if we didn’t do a storm coverage story for our towns I would have been pretty mad.

It’s vital, in my opinion, to keep the public informed and give the town officials a chance to let the public know what’s going on. I think it’s important to give them the opportunity to say how their towns are doing. Does that make sense?

These stories really aren’t that hard to write. Basically, you are throwing things together and making it all flow together. There isn’t anything special with these stories.

I always have trouble with the leads to these stories because you have to encompass everything that happened on the state and local level without sounding too broad. I’ve slowly gotten better, but it’s still a “problem” for me.

The more we write the better and easier things get. We all just need to find a bit of patience.

These weather roundup is also important to let people know what the weather is going to be like for the next 24 to 48 hours. I really value getting that kind of information in there and I think it helps the readers prepare.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

