Story of the Week 2/10

Officials react to budget

I know I already talked about the budget, but I wanted to point out a few things that have local officials concerned and puzzled. Living in Connecticut, the budget is a huge concern for everyone on both sides of the aisle.

As a reporter, I’m concerned myself, as well as my parents and everyone I know in Connecticut.

I’m not going to say much more in this post. I just wanted to focus on the significant change to motor vehicle property taxes.

I went to the Connecticut Conference for Municipalities to get the specifics.

The proposal exempts the first $20,000 of a motor vehicle’s assessed value from property taxes. It affects all motor vehicles except rentals. Beginning July 1, 2013, municipalities would have the option of enacting the exemption. Beginning July 1, 2014, towns would be required to implement the exemption. This exemption is estimated to result in lost revenue of between $550 million and $600 million to municipalities. The proposal will allow municipalities scheduled to conduct revaluation for the October 1, 2013, grand list year to delay their next required revaluations until the October 1, 2016, grand list year.

It’s all something to think about. And so is this.

If you read one thing out of all of this, make it this one, by The Hartford Courant’s Christopher Keating.

The budget hasn’t even been out for a week. Most lawmakers are still going through the details. It’s going to be a long process and I cannot wait to keep myself in the loop, while writing stories like this week’s “Story of the Week.”

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

