A Crazy Morning

via ctpost.com

via ctpost.com

Governor Dannel P. Malloy delivered his budget address on Wednesday afternoon. It’s a pretty big deal and something that everyone has been interested in seeing what Malloy is thinking. Now, we know.

There are still many questions and, per usual, we did a local lawmaker reaction to his proposal.

Officials react to budget

It came out great. I was able to get a hold of everyone, whether it be actually talking on the phone or an e-mailed statement. It was a pretty well-rounded story and I’m glad I was able to get that many people into the story. It wasn’t as easy as I had hoped, but it ended up all working out.

The problem was I didn’t have enough time.

I walked in thinking I was going to be able to do at least one story from my notebook, but I was wrong. I had an accident to chase down in South Windham that took quite a bit of legwork.

A couple calls to the PIO and Troop K really took up a lot of time. I wasn’t happy with that, at all. Thankfully, I ended up getting in touch with a fire official, which really helped me piece the whole story together.

The problem was I didn’t have enough time to talk to each lawmaker individually. It was a struggle to have those 10 to 15 minute phone calls because I knew that was time that I needed to piece the story together.

At one point, I ended up writing the accident story during an interview with a lawmaker. I had no choice. I really had to buckle down and write because I was already late with both stories. I really felt the pressure Thursday. It was nice to get the deadline sweats, but I really hope that I don’t have to get that stressed out again anytime soon.

I had to write the local legislator reaction quicker than I had wanted. I really was rushing things. It still came out okay and it was pretty interesting to get a ton of the same feedback from politicians on both sides of the aisle.

I wonder what your reactions were to the budget proposal.

Let me know!

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

