I Like Taking Pictures

F:DPF\Monday NewsAl At Desk  # 1 Jan 11 2013    Al Malpa -1

I took these pictures last Friday night with our one of our photographer’s camera. Al Malpa let me borrow it about a half-hour before I left and I just took pictures of him.

I was sitting across from him, at my desk and across the entire newsroom taking pictures of him while he was working. I admit that it wasn’t the best way to spend my time, but I had a blast doing it.

Disclaimer: I was waiting for my head editor to print the pages so they could be proofed.

I couldn’t stop taking pictures. I really liked the automatic zoom and everything. Al’s camera was a lot easier to use then my Nikon. I know that sounds weird and rude, but Al’s camera made me want to win the lottery and buy one.

I’m not sure how much his camera cost him, but I’d assume it’s close to $10,000, since it weighed a ton. It was fun and I really got crazy with it. I’m hoping to borrow one of his cameras so that I can take pictures of my family and cats soon. I think my family would like that and I’d like the practice.

I know I still have a lot to work on with my photography skills, but I think this “exercise” could be a fun way to get me used to the whole photography scene.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m capable of taking pictures. I just can’t guarantee that any editor will want to put them in their paper. I’m just being honest. I didn’t go to school for photography and I still have yet to figure out all of the functions of my own mini-Nikon.

Nevertheless, I have to prepare myself for this and I think this weird idea could work.

I’m not sure when Al will let me use his camera for a weekend or week, but I’ll be sure to post some of the pictures I get out of it.

To be continued….

Jonathan

2 Responses to I Like Taking Pictures

  1. Nick says:

    I always enjoy your posts, they are informative and enlightening. However, a $10,000 camera does not make you a better photographer, practise, reading your cameras manual, practise, reading up on technique on the web and more practise will have you shhoting just as well on your “mini Nikon”. Keep up the great posts.

    • Thanks for reading Nick,

      I was being a bit sarcastic with that comment. It’s certainly 100x easier, for me at least, to use the more expensive camera and get good pictures. It was a blast.

      I definitely need a lot more practice and I should be asking our photographers a lot more questions, as well. I’m not going to learn if I don’t keep trying.

      And thank you for the kind words!

      Jonathan

Leave a Reply

