I Need A Resolution.. Or Two

via hackcollege.com

via hackcollege.com

On Friday, Poynter published “5 resolutions you can make to become a better journalist in 2013″ and I knew I had to do a post on it. This post is based off the five resolutions and what I really think I’ll be able to do to make myself a better journalist in the coming year.

Visit a neighborhood where English is not the predominant language.

That’s pretty easy. I work in Willimantic. I have that covered and, to be honest, all of the reporters are in the area five days a week. We really try to show our faces and talk to both regular people and town officials.

via the Connecticut Economic Resource Center, Inc.

via the Connecticut Economic Resource Center, Inc.

Commit to learning one new tech skill.

Now this resolution is a bit harder. I feel like I am already behind in my design/editing skills. I really can’t do antyhing with video yet. I’m 23 and I have no idea how to really record or edit video. I’m going to have to make the effort to hone my skills on that because, if I do want to move up in this world, I have to know how to shoot and edit video.

This one is probably the most important for me moving forward through 2013. It’s something I’ve talked about for months, but haven’t really gotten anywhere yet. Call it procrastinating, but I have no excuse. Having this specific skill is a must in this field.

Introduce yourself to a colleague who works in a department that’s different from yours — preferably someone you haven’t talked to before.

I think I’m good with this one, too. Being the only male reporter at the Chronicle, everyone knows who I am. I just have to go around and introduce myself. It’ll be pretty easy to do because there are only 30 or so people that work at the Chronicle. We are a very small operation and work pretty close to each other. I think I can do this one before spring is over.

Dive into social media.

I won’t waste your time on this one. I’m on Facebook and Twitter. I’m 23-years-old and grew up with them and use them on a daily basis.

Eat your vegetables, stay hydrated and get plenty of sleep.

Getting burnt out is something I really worry about. I know I’m still young, but it’s real. I think I’ve come close to it a couple of times. I keep my eye on myself and make sure it’s not a big problem. Even writing about it freaks me out.

As for being healthy, I eat my vegetables, drink plenty of fluids and work out. I’ll be picking up my workouts next week, when I head back to work. I’ve taken a three-week hiatus for the holidays and the cold. With my new cold gear, I have no real excuse not to run in the cold anymore.

Oh, and I cannot remember the last time I had fast food. I really watch what I eat now. Of course, I could always be doing a better job, but I’m making the effort and it’s paid off so far. Once I start running again, I’ll feel even better.

What other resolutions should I be thinking about or working on?

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

