My Year in Review

via allaroundangler.com

via allaroundangler.com

I’m not sure where to start.

I wish I had kept blogging, at least weekly, on this blog. Instead I took month-long hiatuses, which showed my lack of commitment here.

Since I started back up in June, I’ve learned so much about myself and how far I’ve come. I have to say that I am a completely different person, writer and journalist now. The past 365 days have taught me a lot about myself, the Chronicle and this field we call journalism.

I’ve talked a lot about my mistakes/pitfalls/tragedies. I didn’t think that was going to come out as dramatic as it did, but I’ve been pretty tough on myself the last year.

What Do I Need To Work On?

I really feel that I have a lot to work on still. That may be a bit harsh, but I need to be true to myself. I know I’m not working for the NYT, but I better carry myself as if I am. I like the challenge and I pride myself on being as thorough as possible.

My leads still need help. I have the curse of making them newsy each time. I think I do it without thinking. What I should try is writing the story, from the second graph down, and then coming back up and writing the lead that way. I have yet to actually try that, but thinking about it here has it actually making a lot of sense.

My feature writing is slowly getting better, but still needs work. I just need to keep doing what I’m doing and keep the feature stories coming.

And, as always, I have to work on my patience.

What Am I Not Worrying About?

I am not worrying about my rapport or my interviewing skills. I think I’ve done a great job of figuring situations out and getting the statements/quotes that I need to have the best stories possible. I’m confident and comfortable with those skills and I’m okay with where I am at in that respect.

What’s Next For Me?

I have no idea what’s in store for me in the next year. I have high hopes, but who knows what’s going to happen. I am excited to be a part of the staff at the Chronicle and I’m proud to be a full-time reporter. I don’t know to expect. I know budget season is going to be insane, but 2013 is still up for grabs.

I wish I could predict the future, but I really am not sure what to expect. I’m sure big stories will come up, but I am in no place to guess.

Happy New Year.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

