My First Vacation

via atlantaanalytics.com

via atlantaanalytics.com

This week marks my first vacation out of college and my first at the Chronicle. I was originally going to take the week of Christmas off, but I took too long to make up my mind. Human resources told me I had too many vacation days to carry over into 2013, so I had to take a vacation.

It wasn’t that I didn’t want to. I definitely needed a break. This vacation, which started on Monday, comes literally a year since I started here. I have no idea why I waited so long to take one.

I had thought about taking one over the summer, but I just never got around to it. My summer was much busier than anticipated. I didn’t want to take time off and miss anything.

With winter just beginning and the New Year approaching, I figured now is the perfect time because nothing is going on. There are no meetings next week for me. It’s actually a huge relief. I was so paranoid that I was going to miss something while I was gone.

It’s going to be hard to turn off my brain and actually have a vacation. I’ve already tweeted, texted and e-mailed my bosses ideas ranging from story ideas to regular work questions. It’s like I have an itch to stay in the loop and keep my head in the game.

I’m not going out of the country for this vacation, but I do have some particular plans that will be quite fun. I won’t even be traveling that far. I have yet to decide if I’m bringing my laptop with me, but I’m pretty sure I will.

Even if I don’t have my laptop, I will still have my iPhone and Twitter. I can easily find out what’s been happening and going on that way.

Maybe I should go on a cell phone/technology hiatus?

Jonathan

One Response to My First Vacation

  1. Two key elements you must establish in your relationship are mutual understanding and good communication. Unfortunately, some couples lose these and become too comfortable with each other that they lose respect for one another and neglect supporting each other’s goals. This can cause couples to grow apart as opposed to growing together as a couple. It is important that, even though you think you already know each other so well, you never become too comfortable that you lose interest in trying to keep the honeymoon phase alive.

Leave a Reply

