Try Not To Interrupt

via Tumblr

via Tumblr

I have many awful habits. One of them is interrupting people, while they are talking to me. I’ve done it for as long as I can remember and I still do it today.

I don’t meant to do it. Honestly, it’s as if I don’t want to forget to ask a question, so I throw it in, while a source is talking to me. It sometimes turns out okay, but it usually ruins the flow of the entire conversation.

Sometimes interruptions are needed. If the source is beating around the bush, then I want to stop them dead and make them answer the question. If the source is getting long-winded on an answer or rambling, I want to stop and move on to another question. Interrupting has it’s purposes, but, overall, it sucks and I can only imagine how annoying it must be.

I do it to steer the conversation. Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t. Sources do tend to ramble at times. They need to be reined in. As the professional, you have to know when to call them on it and when to leave them be. It’s a dance and one that you have to pay attention to, or you won’t get your answers.

Plus, nothing is worse than that awkward silence, while both of you are trying to figure out who should talk first after the interruption. It’s hell and it’s unprofessional, in my opinion. It really shouldn’t be happening at this point.

But, polite interruptions are still needed, too. Follow-up questions, in the middle of an interview will let the source know that you are paying attention and that you really do give a crap about what the source is saying.

That kind of attention can get you some added rapport and some trust, which, in this business, is crucial for you to do your job. It’s tough and takes a lot of getting used to.

The more you talk to sources the easier it will become. Mistakes will happen, but we are all human and our sources know that. Be understanding and they will reciprocate.

I hope that made sense.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

