Covering Sadness

via theobamadiary.com

via theobamadiary.com

I heard about the vigil in Willimantic on Friday through my boss. I thought about it for a bit. I knew I was going, but I wasn’t sure if I could handle it. Since Friday, a lot of things have gone through my head and, at that time, I just wasn’t sure if I could physically and emotionally do that.

I thought about it for a bit and confirmed with my boss that I would go.  I thought about it the rest of Friday night and all of Saturday. I went through the motions, but it never left my thoughts. I was nervous, sad and unsure of what was going to happen. I had no idea. I had to psych myself up for it. That may sound a bit weird, but, that’s just me being honest.

It was hard to keep myself together. There were a couple moments where I thought I was going to lose it, though.

Over 300 people showed up on Saturday night. I couldn’t believe it. It was an intense showing of community support and I was glad to be a part of it.

I didn’t talk to anyone that cried during the vigil. I couldn’t bring myself to do it. I still had a great story from everyone that I already knew. They were looking for me, it seemed. They would start talking and they couldn’t stop. I could hear the sadness in their voices.

I’m going to another vigil tonight, this time in Coventry. I know what to expect now. But it still won’t be easy. These are tough times for all of us. I’m going to have to psych myself up again for this one. I know a lot of people in town and it’s going to be really emotional.

I’ll have a post on that vigil, as well.

We are CT.

Jonathan

One Response to Covering Sadness

  1. Pingback: Another Service for Newtown « Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

