What You Should Be Reading 12/8

I’m only going to feature one event and it’s an uncomfortable one.

The New York Post came under fire this week from photographer R. Umar Abbasi’s picture of Ki Suk Han about to be hit by a train in NYC. It rocked the journalism world and, frankly, took me by complete surprise. Every major news outlet had a story about it. Fox News, CNN, BBC, MSNBC, CBS, WaPo, NYT and more.

We talked about it in the newsroom for a bit and didn’t really get anywhere. Most of us were in shcok, while others weren’t surprised. It was an interesting dialogue that brought up a lot of famous front cover photos.

via ejumpcut.org

via ejumpcut.org

The Falling Man of 9/11 was on the front page of the NYT. One of my editors brought up this picture and, playing devil’s advocate, asked a bunch of questions. It really made me think and I hope it makes you think.

There are a lot of maybes in both of these pictures. I can’t even begin to to write about the ethics of both photographs.

In lieu of me trying to tackle this, I’ll let Samantha Sharf, of Forbes, take over for me. She too asks questions and opens up a further discussion.

Jeff Sonderman, of Poynter, writes about the photo, as well. It’s worth a read and a discussion. I know it’s not the easiest thing to talk about, but you can’t ignore things like this. You just can’t.

This post by Sonderman really got to me, though.

If any of this offended you, I’m sorry. Talking about journalism isn’t always fun and games. It’s a real-life discussion of what’s happening around the world or at the end of your driveway. It can make you laugh and cry. It’s important to find out what’s going on and, at the same time, understand why it’s happening. It’s something we all should do.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

