Work With Photographers

via cancun-photographer.com

via cancun-photographer.com

I learned very quickly that it doesn’t take much to piss off the photo department. Taking photographs isn’t an easy job, trust me. I’ve proven that not everyone can do it.

Our photographers our great people. They have a tough job to do and they have to try to read my handwriting on our photo slips. Thankfully, they are easy to talk to and more than willing to work with me and my fellow reporters on ideas that may or may not make sense.

The trick is to give them as much information as possible about whatever story you are working on. Sometimes it’s really straightforward (example: A solider returning from Afghanistan), but sometimes it’s a bit trickier (example: finding art for a car break-in story).

Another tip is to talk to the photographer, either in person or on the phone, about the assignment. You can be as detailed as possible and they could still have questions for you. There’s no problem with that. But if you don’t talk to them beforehand, there could be a problem. You don’t want the photographer to show up at the wrong time or place. They don’t appreciate that very much.

I make it a point to talk to them because I want to bounce ideas off of them. I like to tell them what I think myself and my editor want to see and find out if it’s even possible. I think that dialogue relieves some stress for yourself and the photographer because they have a better picture in mind when they go where you send them. If this sounds like an intricate process, it is.

The last thing you want is for the photographer to be confused going out to an important feature, event or assignment.

Though some ideas may seem simple in your head, getting a photographer to actually get a shot of what you want is a different story. It’s not easy to find someone breaking into a car, never mind actually timing it when someone gets to their car out of a department store.

It can get pretty stressful at times, but that’s why you take those steps, and others, to ensure you are getting quality photos that everyone is looking for.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

