Sports Writing Wasn’t For Me

via ehow.com

When I was at Manchester Community College, I started out covering the soccer teams there. It was my first writing “job.” I really thought sports was where I wanted to go.

At first, I didn’t really mind it. I figured that since I liked watching sports, I would love writing about it. It didn’t work out that way. I think I got a couple of weeks into it before I decided it wasn’t for me.

Looking back, I didn’t like the repetition of each game. I felt like I was writing the same stories, with different scores, for each paper. I couldn’t really get creative. Maybe I was just naive at the time. I don’t know. I felt trapped, in a sense.

Maybe I should have stuck with it. I’ll never know. Back then, I couldn’t see myself being a career sports writer. Today, I don’t know. If the opportunity presented itself, I’m not sure what I would do. It would probably come down to money and if I had to relocate. But that’s another blog post.

I realized on my transition to news writing that this is where my heart is. Though budget season can be a bit of a headache at times, I really thrive in this “world.” I’m constantly finding new story ideas and keeping sources on their toes. I’m not stuck covering the same players and coaches.

Instead, I’m sitting in at meetings seeing how residents and services will be affected by budget cuts and how local legislators feel about what’s happening in their towns. I know that sounds weird, but this is my passion.

I can’t tell you if, someday, my passions will change or if I’ll grow out of them, but I can tell you that I’m happy where I’m at right now. Though things are slowing down due to the holidays, I’m almost a full year into my time spent at the Chronicle and I wouldn’t change a thing.

If I had to choose… I don’t know which one I would pick.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

