Always Call Ahead

I didn’t call ahead last night

Sorry for the blurry picture, but that was my night last night. I drove over a half hour to what I thought was going to be a meeting, but it ended up being postponed. I didn’t even think twice about calling ahead. I knew the roads weren’t bad and I really didn’t think anyone would postpone anything on this side of the state. I was wrong.

It’s no one’s fault. I failed to call ahead.

I should have called before I left for my split shift. It was snowing by then, and I should have considered that. I ended up wasting a ton of gas and two hours of my time.

At first, I thought I was just too early, but, upon further inspection, I found that notice. I laughed out loud when I saw it. I think I even dropped my notebook, too.

It is what it is. My family got a kick out of it when I called them on my way home. They told me I should have called ahead.

I ended up finishing a feature story Tuesday night, which was due this morning. So, it ended working out in the end.

Last night was just another lesson for me. You can never tell when a “lesson” like this is going to smack you in the face, but when it does you really can’t miss it.

I don’t usually call ahead, but I think I may get into the habit of making sure I do if there is inclement weather. I really don’t have an excuse for this one.

So, when you aren’t sure about whether or not to call ahead for a meeting or event, make sure you don’t what I did, or rather what I didn’t.

Until next time.

Jonathan

 

One Response to Always Call Ahead

  1. Pingback: A Simple Judgement Call « Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

