Find Your Patience

via labsofperception.blogspot.com

I will be the first to tell you that I have no patience. I pace, bounce my leg and chew on pens constantly. It’s a curse and I live with it.

My patience has slowly gotten better, but it’s nowhere close to where it should be. I mean, when I don’t get calls back in a certain period of time, I’m already calling that person back and leaving another message. I can get pretty annoying at times, I’m sure. And, like I said before, it’s a curse.

I’ve learned that you need to relax. It’ll save your butt and it’ll make life a lot easier. With a morning deadline, people are at work and are doing other things besides waiting by their phones looking to talk to us. It can be a slow process and it does take a lot of time to get used to.

Today was a perfect example. I was doing the holiday weekend roundup and no one was calling me back. I waited a good thirty minutes, unusual for me, and called another source. They weren’t my first choice, but I needed quotes for the story. I can tell you that I wasn’t a happy camper this morning. The roundup stories are nothing new to the local departments and it was kind of surprising that some weren’t able to get back to me.

All of this is part of the job. You learn to wait and time things appropriately, to make your editors and yourself happy. It could be any number of things, too. I just used my example because it was the most recent event that I had.

Sometimes you can lose your patience on the phone with a source, while you are on deadline. You learn how to deal with these things as they come at you. It’s a learning curve that they don’t teach you in college. But, then again, there’s really no way to simulate any of that is there?

Losing your patience isn’t really an excuse for not getting a story done on time, either. It’s really something that I need to continue to work on. And it may sound like an easy fix, but I don’t see it that way.

Jonathan

2 Responses to Find Your Patience

  1. Amy Page says:

    This is why you should do yoga! Or meditate. Or just take deep breaths. 😉

Leave a Reply

