Story of the Week 11/25

Welcome to this week’s installment of “Story of the Week.”

I didn’t have many clips this week, but there is one I’d like to highlight.

Public works, charter groups ready in Lebanon

I’ve been following this story since January, when I started working. It’s been a huge deal, but lost a ton of steam over Lebanon’s budget season. It finally picked up during the summer and, now, both committees are ready to go.

I’m debating whether or not to attend both of the first kickoff meetings for each committee. I really think it would be wise for me to get to know everyone. It would be a great way to show my face, hand out my card and get the chairs’ phone numbers for when I need to call them. I know I will have to in the near future for updates and when I check in with them.

Thankfully, I know a lot of members on both committees and it won’t be all new faces.

In addition, I think it’s really interesting to show the progress with specific stories in towns. It’s one thing to cover a feature once, but it’s another to continually have stories updating your readers on the status of certain things. I think that’s key to keeping people engaged and it also gives you an easy story to do if you are in desperate need of a story on deadline.

That may seem a bit crude, but it’s the truth. The story itself needed only for me to go to a board of selectmen’s meeting. And I just had to rehash how things have gone since January. It needed to be written either way. I wasn’t slow this past week, but I wanted to make sure I had the story before the first meeting for each committee. It’s nice to get that out of the way so the updates aren’t littered with too much background information.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

