The Double

Tuesday night was an unusual one.

Two meetings in one night isn’t very common for me with my smaller towns, but in Windham/Willimantic it’s a very, very common occurrence.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to make it work, but it came out fine.

The first was a board of selectmen meeting in Lebanon at 5 p.m., with a Coventry town council finance committee meeting at 7 p.m. I knew I was cutting it close even before I decided to do both meetings, but I did it anyway. I can’t follow-up on stories in Lebanon on Tuesday because the town hall is closed on Wednesdays. I don’t like being two days late on stories and I really wanted to say “Hi” to the selectmen. I hadn’t seen them in almost a month and I like to poke my head in once in a while.

I had to go to the Coventry meeting because the committee was going to be meeting with the school board’s finance committee. It wasn’t an earth shattering meeting, but it was something I couldn’t afford to miss with all of the “heavy hitters” all in one place, which include the town manager, superintendent, finance director and council members. It was a great meeting with a lot of great discussions.

I was able to get a number of stories out of the meeting.

Thankfully, the Lebanon meeting ended a half-hour before I had to be in Coventry. I needed that time to drive to Coventry. It doesn’t always work out like that, but sometimes I’m able to catch breaks every now and then. It’s kind of nice.

Having two meetings in one night really gets my story “queue” full for the rest of the week. The meeting came at a great time, especially with Thanksgiving next week.

I’ve been able to stockpile stories for a week that I am expecting to fly by and not have much news. I do have some meetings, but it’s going to be a blessing to get winter over with. I thought summer was kind of slow, but, from what I’ve been told, I should get ready for winter.

We’ll have to wait and see what happens next week, though. Anything can happen.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

