A Story To Remember

via ctpost.com

Did you vote yet?

Longtime state Sen. Edith Prague, D-Columbia, is retiring and I had the opportunity to talk to her, at her home, last week. My editor and I decided to make it into a feature, with comments from other local legislators on both sides of the aisle. I was able to get a hold of a lot more local legislators than I originally thought.

The story “Retirement won’t slow Prague down” came out great. Mike gave me a lot of space and I appreciated that. I wasn’t sure how much room I would get, but it all worked out.

I have yet to hear back from Edith, but I’ll be giving her a call tomorrow. She’s campaigning today, not for herself, but for someone to fill her seat in the 19th Senate District.

My favorite thing about this story was that no one else has it. Everyone covered her announcement before the summer months, but I have yet to see a story like the one we did. I’m not saying mine is the best, but the approach we took was definitely different than what I’ve seen.

Edith was really nice about it. She was more than happy to talk to me. It was great to step into her life and see how she carries about her day. She’s very relaxed, but has no problem stepping up to the plate when a constituent calls her.

Check the story out and let me know what you think.

Jonathan

One Response to A Story To Remember

  1. Pingback: Story of the Week 11/11 « Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

