Lessons from Sandy

Sandy really threw me for a loop. I wasn’t expecting things to get that bad. I mean I was concerned about it, but I really took it for granted. I wasn’t thinking straight for some reason.

For more pictures like the one above of New Jersey and New York go here. I have to warn you that it’s a lot to take in. It’s awful.

I learned to not take any storm for granted. The work that my coworkers and myself did was phenomenal. Half of our staff didn’t have power and we still put the paper out everyday. We didn’t skip a beat.

The reporters cannot take all of the credit, though. I really have to thank my editors for literally everything. We owe all of our successes this week to them. They weren’t having a blast either, but we all worked together and I think we really proved ourselves.

Think about this… There are three full-time reporters. We are all under the age of 25 and have an average of 15 MONTHS experience as professional journalists. I mean, that’s something to be proud of. We put the pressure on ourselves and stepped up to the plate. It’s something I won’t ever forget.

The biggest lesson from Sandy that I really need to work on is editing my own stories. Too often in the past week I handed in stories that needed work. By work, I mean that those stories needed to be tweaked more than normal, or, frankly, what I expect from myself. I pride myself on turning in clean copy, but this past week I wasn’t consistent enough.

The worst was Thursday. I don’t know if I just wasn’t used to doing two stories on deadline or what, but I really let myself down. I should have been more diligent in my editing. I know how to fix it, which is great, but handing in stories like that is something that really gets under my skin.

Overall, the week went well. I’m not looking forward to winter, though.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

