What Hurricane?

Both of those great graphics above are from the Huffington Post, which has done a great job of covering Hurricane Sandy. (For today’s earlier post go here)

I wasn’t sure what to expect this morning. I got up and went to work at my normal time. And that’s where normalcy ended.

I was the last reporter to come in and they already had a plan ready to go. We decided to do a conglomerate roundup of our big towns, adding in some of the school closings. It was fairly easy to do because all of the officials that we needed were in their emergency operations center.

We had an early deadline this morning, but it really went quite well. There was some frustration with people calling me back, but we got the paper out on time.

After deadline, the heads of all the departments got together and decided to do Tuesday’s paper today, in case we lose power. The problem with that? I had to do another roundup of our towns in even less time. We had two local stories, one from me (the roundup) and one from Louisa, who stopped into the EOC in Willimantic. They really complemented each other. It was hectic.

Mike and I stayed to get the paper done. We ended up getting a local photo for the front page, too. If we do have power, then we update what we have. If we don’t have power, we can send someone to a sister paper and get the paper printed.

We got out of the office shortly after 2 p.m., but it was really stressful. Being the only editor in all day today, Mike had to do everything by himself. I helped him as best I could and we did Tuesday’s paper in less than four hours. I copied the PDFs to two discs, with one in my bag right now.

Mike and I are currently at the Best Western in Mansfield. We didn’t want to be out in the rain/wind and we have to be able to get into work tomorrow. I’ll keep you posted on how that goes.

For now, we are in the room watching the news.

Hopefully the paper will have power. Knock on wood. Oh and our alarm is set for 4:30 a.m.

Jonathan

2 Responses to What Hurricane?

  1. Pingback: The Cleanup Begins « Just Starting Out

  2. Pingback: Lessons from Sandy « Just Starting Out

Leave a Reply

