Murder?

via whatsamsawtoday.com

Journalism is more than what I do on a weekly basis.

I’ve never had my life threatened, nor seen other journalists hurt while trying to cover the news.

There are many, many journalists, all over the world that work under those conditions on a daily basis. My work is nothing, compared to what they do each day.

I wanted to highlight a few stories that I’ve seen lately in the news that really put that into perspective.

From The Daily Beast, I found this article titled “Russian Top Human-Rights Journalists Face Threats, Murder” by Anna Nemtsova that really took me by surprise. I encourage you to take the time to read it and think about working and living under those conditions.

Nemstova writes: “There is something seriously wrong in Russia: the country’s most-experienced and famous human-rights reporters are being threatened and killed in broad daylight.”

She goes on for about 1,000 words, on the lack of safety human-rights journalists are faced with. It’s eye-opening and horrifying.

Honestly, I had no idea this was even going on until I saw the article on Oct. 4. I really didn’t think twice about things like that. I’ve heard of the several journalists killed this year, but it took Nemtsova’s story to really hit home for me.

All of this just makes me think how important journalism is. Period.

Now, have you heard of Malala Yousafzai? If you haven’t, I implore you to take the time to catch up or just Google her name.

Yousafzai was shot in the head and neck on Tuesday by the Taliban for helping other girls go to school.

Not a journalist, Yousafzai is still a symbol of defiance against Taliban subjugation. She blogged for the BBC in 2009 about her experiences with the Taliban. She wanted to become a doctor. She is only 14 years old. She was 11 when she wrote the blog.

She’s in a military hospital for her own protection. She is fighting for education.

UPDATE: As of this morning, she was being transported to the UK. She remains in serious condition, according to the BBC.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

