Story of the Week 10/13

Welcome to this week’s installment of “Story of the Week.”

I had eight stories in the paper this week. This installment was hard to choose. I didn’t know if I wanted to go with a feature or not, but I ended up with a story on finances and the upcoming budget season.

This Andover schools prep for insurance increase story isn’t a breaking news story, but, rather, a town identifying concerns it may have moving forward with the 2013-14 budget.

I got the story from Andover’s board of education earlier in the week and I followed up the next day with a 15-minute conversation with the superintendent. The state‘s budget problems don’t stop there, they trickle down to all of the 169 towns.

We don’t really think about it that way, but this week, again, put that into perspective for me. There are budget shortfalls and problems all over.

It’s going to be an interesting budget season.

Jonathan

Leave a Reply

